Decorating DASH manor

Mr Dash and I built our first home a couple of years ago, as many first time home owners will know, furnishing a new space is hard, and expensive! So, 2 years later we still have PLENTY of blank open space and lots of very white white walls.

With a flash of creative inspiration, but very little ability, one wet weekend in August I jumped Tara Denis style into my first project. Pom Pom flowers! Why – because these little guys bring colour to a dull table or corner, but can’t be killed off by a forgetful waterer with two black thumbs. It also meant I could legitimately buy a hot glue gun and spend some time wandering the aisles of spotlight.

After consulting Pinterest I decided the very easiest way to make a pom pom was the hand wrapping method detailed here

I like a dense pom pom, so wrapped and wrapped until my fingers couldn’t take anymore, this also makes them stronger and less prone to disintegrating before your eyes as you try to tie them up. I lost a few this way, stringy little casualties of useless off cuts when I got to the trimming stage.

Once I had made a few in different sizes (just adjust the number of fingers you wrap) and colours, I was ready to put it all together. I used thick gauge florists wire (smaller numbers equal stronger gauge) that was already wrapped in green paper as my stems and a few wrapped in green wool to give a sturdier look. It was simply a matter poking the wire through a Pom Pom then positioning in my chosen vase to get the look I was after. A pair of kitchen scissors were strong enough to trim some stems to get a variety of heights.

Now it’s time to fire up the glue gun and make the look more permanent. A squirt of hot glue on the end of each stem, then reattaching each pom pom keeps everything in place, then voila!

20131123-155846.jpg

Leave a Reply

